BY THE NUMBERS: Republic Acts on Media and Telecommunication Franchises

Let us take a look at the number of promulgated laws on Media and Telecommunication Franchises from the 8th to 16th Congress

As of March 6, 2017, there are a total of 362 Republic Acts on Media and Telecommunication franchises, including amendments, extensions, and renewal of terms.

There are 53 Republic Acts for radio, 12 for television, 180 for radio and television, 1 for radio telephone communications (RA 8101, 9th Congress), 8 for radio and telecommunications, 5 for radio paging systems, and 104 for telecommunications.

Only two (2) Republic Acts have thus far been promulgated under the 17th Congress [link to Inforgraph: performance of the 17th Congress]. Media and telecommunication franchises scheduled for renewal and extension are still undergoing deliberation in Congress.




Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.