There will be 17 regions plus NCR as Federal Capital on federalism shift – ConCom

Here are some updates on the ConCom on Charter Change en banc meeting

The Consultative Committee on Charter Change’s Subcommittee on Creation of States/Subnational Government discussed their proposal of dividing the country into 17 federated regions last week.

This list of the proposed federated regions aside from NCR includes the current regions and the Negros Island Region that was recently abolished by the current administration.

According to Prof. Edmund Tayao, Chairman of the subcommittee, this division is more feasible than the initial proposal of 12 regions because “no one will feel threatened that their powers and functions are suddenly clipped”. Moreover, he also said that there is already a consensus among the committee members of adopting the 17+1 provision and is just lacking formality.

The Commission also consulted the country’s economic managers such as National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) Socioeconomic Planning USec. Rosemarie Edillon, Department of Finance (DOF) USec. Bayani Agabin, Department of Budget and Management (DBM) Director Leila Rivera, and Philippine Institute for Development Studies (PIDS) President Celia Reyes. Also present in the subcommittee meeting were Office of the Cabinet Secretary ASec. Marlon Broto and Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) ASec. and federalism campaign chief Jonathan Malaya.

During the meeting, Tayao also presented the Readiness Index for Sustainable Economies Under PHederalism (RISE UP) indicators that will aid in determining the preparedness of provinces for the shift.

On the part of PIDS, they questioned some indicators and suggested new ones in which the Committee awaits the updated indices from the PIDS before they plot the regional divisions for the Charter.