Meet the 2023 APPCU recipients

 Six individuals, including former president Rodrigo Duterte are among the recipients of the 2023 Award for Promoting Philippines-China Understanding (APPCU). 

The APPCU was launched on January 16, 2021, and awards individuals who promote the spirit of friendship and understanding between the Philippines and China.


This year's APPCU Hall of Fame awardees, which recognize the prestige and stature of the individual, as well as the immense effort of work the individual has done over time, are former Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte and former Special Envoy of the President to the People's Republic of China Amb. Carlos Chan.    


The Outstanding Contributions awardees are former Philippine ambassador to Greece and Cyprus Amb. Rigoberto Tiglao and former special envoy to the People's Republic of China, Trade and Investments Dr. Jaime Cruz. They were acknowledged as individuals of lesser prominence but have made notable contributions in promoting and strengthening Philippines-China bilateral relations, friendship, cooperation, and understanding.


The Major Contributions awardees are Regina Rosa Tecson, the director of the Satellite Office of Vice President Sarah Duterte in Davao City, and Jose Ong Tajan, former president of APCU Baguio and former chairman of the Filipino-Chinese Chamber of Commerce of Baguio City. They were recognized as the individuals whose works have a growing reach and impact on the lives of specific groups or communities of people at the grassroots level. 


The six laureates passed the three-stage selection and judging process that began earlier this year and will be awarded at the ceremony on June 8, 2023. The awardee must be a Filipino citizen who has contributed to the improvement of the Philippines-China bilateral ties through their fields of disciplines and areas of expertise.  



Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.