Knowing the 17th Congress: The Senate

Did you know that there are 6 senators who will be graduating in 2019, and 6 senators might seek for re-election in 2019?

The Senate is composed of 24 lawmakers. The infographic below shows out of 12 senators elected in 2016, 3 of them are returning senators namely Senators Ping Lacson, Dick Gordon, and Kiko Pangilinan. There are 6 senators who will be ending their second term in 2019, namely Senators Chiz Escudero, Antonio Trillanes IV, Alan Peter Cayetano, Koko Pimentel, Gringo Honasan, and Loren Legarda. Among the 24 lawmakers, 6 senators are halfway through their first term and will hold office until 2019, namely Senators Grace Poe, Sonny Angara, Nancy Binay, Cynthia Villar, Bam Aquino, and JV Ejercito.

There are 18 male and 6 female legislators in the 17th Congress. The same gender count as the 16th Congress.

There are 11 senators whose ages range between 45 to 54 years old. The oldest legislators are Senator Gordon and Senator Franklin Drilon, who are both 72 years old, while the youngest legislator is Senator Manny Pacquiao who is 39 years old.

There are 5 senators from the Liberal Party (LP), 5 Independent, 3 from the Nacionalista Party (NP), 3 from the National People’s Coalition (NPC), 3 from the PDP-Laban, 2 from the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA), 1 from the Akbayan, 1 from the Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino (LDP), and 1 from the Citizens' Battle Against Corruption (CiBAC). The majority is composed of 18 senators and the minority by 6 senators.