Knowing the 17th Congress: The House of Representatives

 Did you know that during the 2016 elections, 116 lawmakers ran under the Liberal Party and only 3 members are under PDP-Laban?

As of January 2017, there are 295 members in the House of Representatives of the 17th Congress. These are representatives from 238 districts and 57 party-list groups. There are 3 vacancies following the deaths of two congressmen and appointment of another. Those who died while in office were Sulu 1st District Representative Tupay Loong (June 2016), and Basilan Lone District Representative Jum Akbar (November 2016). Rep. Mark Villar (Lone Dist, Las Piñas) was appointed in May 2016 as Secretary of Department of Public Works and Highways.

The infographic below shows first-termers dominating the House with 136 representatives including former Senator Pia Cayetano and former Batangas Governor Vilma Santos-Recto. There are 82 legislators who are in their second term, while 77 legislators are in their third term.

In 2016 elections, 116 district representatives ran under the Liberal Party (LP). However, after the elections, most of its members moved to PDP-Laban. PDP-Laban, which started with only 3 members, is now composed of 95 members, making it the majority party. Rep. Bellaflor Angara-Castillo (Lone Dist, Aurora) is the only member affiliated with Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino (LDP).

Members of the House are mostly male with 208 lawmakers. Compared to the previous Congress, the 17th Congress has more female members, with 87 lawmakers, including the country’s first transgender lawmaker, Rep. Geraldine Roman (1st Dist, Bataan).

Among the representatives, 6 of them are in their 80s, with Rep. Imelda Marcos (2nd Dist, Ilocos Norte) is the oldest at 88 years old. There are 5 legislators who are in their 20s. Rep. Dennis Laogan (Ang Kabuhayan Party-list) is the youngest among the members at 27 years old. On the average, the age of legislators ranges from 45 to 54 years old